On October 17, Associated Builders and Contractors of Greater Houston (ABC) hosted its annual Excellence in Construction Awards (EIC), which showcased forty projects built by ABC Greater Houston members that were rigorously judged on an array of criteria. This event, established in 2000, recognizes outstanding projects in the commercial and industrial construction industry.  

Categories included general contractor and specialty contractor projects, and the selected projects excelled in safety, quality, ingenuity, and workmanship. With twenty-three categories, and two major awards, the Merit Award and the Ice Award, the selected entries are considered among the best of merit shop construction. 

Below are the award recipients.  

ICE Award Winners: 

Satterfield & Pontikes Construction Inc. – Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral  
Hoar Construction, LLC – Latitude Med Center 
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – Mid Lane II “The Ivy” 
GMI – Greater Metroplex Interiors, Inc. – SHSU Lowman Student Center   
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – Texas A&M University Hotel and Conference Center  
E.E. Reed Construction, L. P. – Suez WTS USA Water and Process Technologies Laboratory  
Ref-Chem L.P. – Targa Project 
Craig & Heidt, Inc. – LyondellBasell Channelview Complex 
STARCON International, Inc. – Chevron Phillips Chemical Company Dual Outage 
Tellepsen Industrial – XTO Energy Owl Phase 1 Central Delivery Point Project 
MMR Group – Ethylene Plant Restart Project 
Hoar Construction, LLC – Texas A&M Texarkana Student Services Building 
Austin Commercial – Texas A&M Davis Diamond Softball Stadium 
Manhattan Construction Company – Wortham Theater Flood Recovery 
SpawGlass Construction Corporation – Harris County Precinct 4 Service Center Phase 1 
Construction EcoServices, LLC – Camellia  
Group Contractors, LLC – Dow Fender Control Building 
Way Engineering – University of Houston Fertitta Center Renovation  

Merit Award Winners:  

Skanska USA Building Inc. – Bank of America Capitol Tower Houston  
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – Texas A&M University Hotel and Conference Center 
Karsten Interior Services – Bank of America Capitol Tower Houston 
MAREK – Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral 
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – West Memorial Place II – Harvey Repair  
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – Frost Tower 
Performance Contractors, Inc. – Net Compliance Upgrade Project 
Bayou City Industrial Contractors, Ltd – Lubrizol – Effluent Outfall Pipeline Project 
KBR – Chemours Company Opteon Project 
S&B Engineers and Constructors , Ltd. – Energy Transfer Partners, Lonestar, Fractionator VI project  
Austin Commercial  – University of Houston Clear-Lake Pearland Health Science Center 
Turner Construction – Jack Yates High School 
Turner Construction – University of Houston Fertitta Center Renovation 
Fast Track Specialties, LP – Sidley Austin 
SpawGlass Construction Corporation – Texas A&M EnMed Renovation at Houston Methodist West Pavilion 6 
Turner Construction – KHOU Studio Relocation  
E.E. Reed Construction, L. P. – Ravago Warehouse/Distribution Center with Rail Yard 
Hoar Construction, LLC – Houston Methodist Clear Lake Central Utility Plant  
Aggregate Technologies Inc. – Harbor Island Existing Dock Demolition 
Standard Constructors, Inc. – Marathon Tier 3 Civil and Underground Construction Project 
Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD – Museum of Fine Arts Glassell 
Gonzales Commercial Electric, Inc. – University of Houston Fertitta Center   

ABC members are renowned for their dedication to safety and excellence in the construction field, and the awards program demonstrated that commitment. The projects were evaluated by local owners, architects, and engineers on safety, execution of design, craftsmanship, attention to detail, installation, and other considerations.  

ABC Greater Houston also awarded the coveted Best of Houston Award to E.E. Reed Construction, L.P. for the Ravago Warehouse/Distribution Center with Rail Yard project. The Best of Houston Award recognizes the highest scoring project that best represents the industry and city. This title holds the highest honor after having been evaluated diligently and E.E.  Reed will hold the award until the next winner is announced at the 2020 EIC Awards. 

To learn more about ABC Greater Houston, please visit our website at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Thanks for helping us keep this blog spam free! Please complete the following equation before submitting comment: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.