Home ABC/CMEF 2018 in Review and the Year Ahead

2018 in Review and the Year Ahead


Associated Builders and Contractors of Greater Houston (ABC), an association representing the interests of merit shop contractors and their employees, is proud of the year the association has had.

This past January, the 2018 Board of Directors, who were elected by the ABC membership, were sworn in to serve for a three-year term. Board member responsibilities include setting policies and goals that will guide the association, ensuring policies are carried out by board, staff, and committees, and making sure there is adequate funding for programs and events.

“When I had the chance to join the Board of Directors in 2012, I felt it was my duty to continue to serve the industry and give back through volunteer efforts,” said Robert Burelsmith, the 2018 ABC Greater Houston Chair with E.E. Reed Construction. Burelsmith started serving ABC Greater Houston through committee involvement, including the Executive Committee. “The Chair helps promote the association’s strategic goals and needs of each to bolster the success of the volunteer efforts. This year has been a great experience, and I would do it all over again.”

Burelsmith’s focus this year was on the Safety Training Evaluation Process, also known as STEP. The goal was to educate membership on STEP with a high-end goal of one-hundred percent STEP participation by 2023. So far, sixty-percent of the membership has completed the application.

When asked about his favorite highlight of the year, Burelsmith says he enjoyed attending the ABC Greater Houston functions and meeting with membership. “The volunteers made great strides on accomplishing most of the 2018 strategic goals, and it has been great to work with and see those accomplishments move the ABC objectives forward. I would like to thank the membership and the Board of Directors for giving me the opportunity to lead as the 2018 Chair. It has been a great experience, and I look forward to continuing to serve ABC for years to come.”

In 2019, the Houston Chapter of Associated Builders and Contractors will be welcoming incoming Chair, Brandon Mabile with Performance Contractors, at the January 10th Inaugural Celebration. The event will honor the new board of directors and committee chairs.

“I’ve learned a lot about the industry and myself in the last nine years I’ve been involved at ABC Greater Houston,” said Brandon Mabile, the 2018 Chair-Elect. “In that time, I’ve had the chance to work with our student chapters on the Young Professionals Committee, help start and serve as Chairman for ABC National’s Young Professionals Committee, chaired the Political Action Committee, served as a trustee on the Free Enterprise Alliance, and was able to meet a lot of amazing people.”

Mabile says one of the goals he plans to focus on in 2019 is education. “My goal is to see existing and potential members educated on how they can get involved with ABC Greater Houston to maximize their investment in the association. I believe that my position Business Development Manager at Performance Contractors has given me strong insight into the construction market as client and owner expectations and labor needs in the Greater Houston and larger gulf coast region.”

Mabile is looking forward to the opportunity to chair the association in 2019. “I know it will be a challenge, but I am certain it will be rewarding and educational. Having the opportunity to be a leader of such a great association is such an honor for me. I am excited for a great year.”

The 2018 ABC Executive Committee included Robert Burelsmith with E.E. Reed Construction, Warren Adamson of S&B Engineers and Constructors, Brandon Mabile with Performance Contractors, Sam Craig with Craig & Heidt, Todd Fry with Karsten Interior Services, and Phil Restivo with Turner Construction.

2018 board members included Rusty Barnhill of Force Corporation, Joel Boe of Cajun Constructors, Dwayne Boudreaux of Ref-Chem L.P., Edwin Brink of JACOBS, Kenny Brown of Brock Services Ltd., Bob Deatherage of Bechtel Construction Services, Darlene East of Holes Incorporated, Matt Elliot of SpawGlass Construction Corporation, John Glaze of Fast Track Specialties, John Golashesky of Turner Industries Group, Mike Holland of MAREK, Elaine Howard of Andrews Myers, Asher Kazmann of Locke Solutions Precast Division, Shawn McAlpin of Burton Construction, David McCleskey of Brown & Root Industrial Services, Russell Milam of Penhall Company, Beau Pollock of Trio Electric, Zac Ridner of Fleet IQ, Wendell Rychlik of W.T. Byler Company, Dan Wahle of Structure Tone Southwest, Ronnie Wills of Aggregate Technologies, and Lohn Zylicz of D.E. Harvey Builders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Thanks for helping us keep this blog spam free! Please complete the following equation before submitting comment: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.